How to Delete or Deactivate Your WhatsApp Account

WhatsApp is a popular messaging app owned by Meta, but despite its popularity it has come under particular scrutiny since a controversial privacy policy change in 2021. If you don’t like the platform and want to switch to other options like Signal, you don’t have to leave your WhatsApp account active.

You should either delete or deactivate your WhatsApp. We’ll show you how to delete or temporarily deactivate your WhatsApp account.

Should you delete or deactivate your WhatsApp account?

WhatsApp only offers one option if you want to leave the platform: deleting your account. However, be aware that when you delete your WhatsApp account, you will lose your account, message history, and Google Drive backup. You will also be removed from all your WhatsApp groups.

Deleting your account destroys your account and associated data, which is handy if you’re ready to abandon the platform for privacy-focused WhatsApp alternatives. However, let’s say you want to take a break from the platform. In that case, the app does not provide an official way to deactivate your WhatsApp account temporarily.

However, we can get around this by using different workarounds. Whether you want to take a temporary break from WhatsApp or leave the platform altogether, you may prefer one option over the other.

How to deactivate your WhatsApp account temporarily

Since there is no way to temporarily deactivate your WhatsApp account, you can use a workaround. If you are interested, we have already covered ways to disappear from WhatsApp without deleting the app. All solutions will ensure that you are deactivated on WhatsApp, but you can come back later at your discretion and continue using the platform without losing your account and information.

What happens when you delete your WhatsApp account?

According to WhatsApp, the platform will delete your data and everything associated with your account in 90 days. But note that information related to groups you’ve created or messages you’ve shared with other users won’t be affected. WhatsApp also says that copies of your information may remain in backup storage after the 90 days have passed.

The Platform may also retain certain information for “legal issues, violations of the Terms, or loss prevention efforts”. Regardless, WhatsApp states that you cannot regain access to your account or information after deleting your account.

For these reasons, if you plan to switch from WhatsApp to Signal, Telegram, or any other instant messaging app, you should export your messages.

Quit whatsapp temporarily or for good

Whether you want to ditch WhatsApp altogether or take a break from the platform for better alternatives, the guide above should have you covered. While WhatsApp doesn’t offer any option to temporarily deactivate an account, you can use a workaround to appear offline even when connected to cellular data or Wi-Fi.

If you are moving from WhatsApp to another messaging app, one major hurdle is losing your chat history. Thankfully, Telegram lets you easily import your WhatsApp individual and group chats.

In WhatsApp on iOS, open the chat you want to move and tap the contact photo to open Contact Info.

Next, scroll down and select Export Chats. From the menu that pops up, choose Attach media to include all media from the chat. You should note that if you choose this, it will take a long time to export the chats. Otherwise, choose Without media if you want to include only text.

This will export your chat and open the share sheet. From there choose Telegram, and this will open Telegram’s contact list. After you select the relevant contact, Telegram will import the WhatsApp chat.

Since Telegram is available for iPadOS, you can sync your accounts and enjoy those chats on your iPad too.

Leave a Comment